Loving the Dresden

I was very intrigued when I came across the Dresden Quilting Challenge, sponsored by the Salt Lake Modern Quilt Guild. I am a fairly new quilter and I quilt weekly with a group, our instructor chooses our projects so that we can learn different aspects of quilting. I thought, “I can do this challenge, no problem, how hard can it be…..”

Well, designing a quilt on your own is quite a learning experience, and I am so glad I took on this project. It was hard, but I loved working with the pattern and my fabric. I hand quilted each blade and then hand quilted around the outside edge. I learned a lot participating in this challenge. I will be very glad to rejoin my quilting group when we start up this fall, but I will continue to look for challenges such as this one to expand my skills.

My quilt is 19 inches square.

Image

ImageImage

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Loving the Dresden

  1. kaholly says:

    How truly lovely!!

  2. Barb says:

    I like the stitching on the Dreseden plate and how it shows up on the back.
    Barb@Witsend

  3. Nikki says:

    The bright colors are great against the black background! And I love hand quilting. 🙂

  4. Ida says:

    what a nice, happy piece! Love the prairie points too and the hand quilting!

  5. Elisa says:

    Hi Virginia,
    Elisa here from the SLMQG. Could yu please shift your entry to the mini category if you have time by tonight. No worries if you can’t figure it out. Thanks

  6. Pingback: We Have Winners! | Salt Lake Modern Quilt Guild

  7. Elisa says:

    Congrats! You’ve won the random prize drawing for the Mini category. I need your email so I can send you some information and get your mailing address. Thanks
    Elisa

Leave a Reply

