Strawberry Shortcake, for short….from Baking with Julia

I really did make this lovely cake from scratch, I just did not have my camera handy when I was baking. I used my King Arthur cake flour that we used for a prior recipe and followed the recipe exactly, except I am not a sifter. I don’t have one and find it hard to do this extra step. Does anyone know if it really makes a difference?

When I went to bake the cake, I found I did not have an 8 inch cake pan, and since I had already made one trip to my local cooking supplies store (King Arthur Flour), I made do with a 9 inch pan. I actually coated it with butter, floured the pan, and cut out parchment paper, as listed in the recipe. The cake turned out without a problem, YAY!

Since I used a 9 inch pan, I did not have the thickness to do a 3 layer cake. The strawberries and whipped cream in the middle were wonderful and the cake has been much appreciated by my family, as can be seen below. I think the three layers would have been nicer to have, so will need to purchase an 8 inch pan to use next time I make this recipe.

This was a wonderful cake, not very hard to make and very very good.

Looking forward to baking good things in July! This is a view from Cardigan Mountain in New Hampshire taken during a full moon hike in May.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Strawberry Shortcake, for short….from Baking with Julia

  1. tomatothymes says:

    I love the idea of using mixed berries. Very creative.
    Lisa

  2. Cathleen says:

    I used an eight-inch pan and only got two layers though my pictures look like I could have gotten three I did not have the confidence in doing so. I think sifting is more for making sure you don’t have any flour clumps. If you have a fine mesh strainer you can use that to sift with. Cardigan Mt. looks awesome! Would love to do a full moon hike. Hiking is second to baking in my book. 🙂

  3. Cher says:

    If you don’t have a sifter, running it through a seive works. It’s a little bit of a fussy step, but it helps to make sure there are no lumps.
    I like your cake – especially with the addition of blueberries 🙂

Leave a Reply

