Hungarian Shortbread….from Baking with Julia…..Tuesdays with Dorie!

Ok, so I have a confession to make about this week’s recipe. I planned on taking it directly to work, I did not plan on liking it at all. Any recipe with 4 sticks of butter, 4 eggs and 2 cups of sugar was just over the top for me. As I cooked onward, I realized just how good lots of butter and sugar, with a few eggs, can be….

Here is documentation of where I started, I would normally pass over recipes similar to this one. I did not have any local rhubarb (not in yet) so used a jar of homemade Elderberry Jam that a patient gave me (I also have a jar of homemade hot sauce if anyone has any suggestions how to use).

I was not sure how long to beat, could not really tell pale and fluffy…

Ready to go into the freezer, I like the recipe so far…easy…

I used a smaller pan and grated away for the bottom layer, spread the elderberry jam, and then did the same for the top. I found I just could not bring myself to use all the dough, so I used about a half of the second frozen dough ball, and then put it back in the freezer (good thing too, because I almost threw it out thinking it was just too rich…)

I just had to cook about 50 minutes before I started to get that golden brown color over the top. I just realized I forgot to dust the top with confectionery sugar, oh well, will have to remember next time I make it.

Oh my, this was absolutely delicious, the type of pastry that one would purchase in a bakery!!! I am soooo glad that I have a frozen piece of dough so I can make a little mini shortbread at some point.


This is not going to last long in my household and will not make it to my office! I froze a few pieces for my sister to try, and a few for myself. Was very surprised in the end at how impressed I was with this recipe. I would make it again.

This recipe was taken from the Baking with Julia cookbook.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Hungarian Shortbread….from Baking with Julia…..Tuesdays with Dorie!

  1. smarkies says:

    Looks good and definitely tasty!

  2. Ckay says:

    Elderberry jam… Mmmm, I’ve never heard of it!
    Ahah! After translating it into Italian I’ve found out: Sambuco!
    Oh my Grandma used to make jam & syrup and I loved it!!

    Delicious shortbread… I’m definitely going to make it again.
    I loved it, and though I’d reduced the butter by 1/3 it still was great!
    Thanks for baking along!
    Greetings from Switzerland.

  3. jane says:

    Glad you liked the final product. It looks great

  4. Alice says:

    I used about the same amount of dough for mine too 🙂

  5. Rebecca says:

    That is beautiful! I had a bit of dough left over as well. I loved how this one turned out. Nice of you to save some for your sister. 🙂

  6. I thought this recipe was way over the top as well…I would normally never make this with so much butter…surprisingly it was good and everyone loved it…I guess one piece isn’t so bad! 🙂 I love your pan!

  7. Looks great! I’m glad you used the jam instead of the hot sauce!

  8. I agree. . . very much like something one could buy at a bakery 🙂

  9. yes, i feel kind of guilty about liking this one so much, but it was really delicious.

  10. Jenn says:

    Glad you liked it! It was an unexpected hit around here too!

  11. Cher says:

    This was tasty, wasn’t it?
    Rhubarb isn’t in season up here, either; so I had to dip into my reserves 🙂
    It looks great; thanks for baking along this week.

  12. sanyaliving says:

    You made me laugh! there’s been a few recipes from the French Fridays with Dorie group that I’ve planned on passing on and have been surprised by how much I’ve ended up enjoying them!

  13. Saira says:

    Lovely Shortbread 🙂

  14. I always love it when I try something, not expecting to like it and then end up loving it! This is one of the reasons why this group is fun!

  15. Mary Hirsch says:

    Honestly, this shortbread is so rich that I am thinking of leaving off the confectioner’s sugar next time. Another baker just piped some jam on the top. It looked pretty and wouldn’t it taste just as good? I loved these bars – gave some away, froze a big tin of them, and saved a “row” for myself. Yeah, oink. oink. oink. They were goooooodddd.

  16. I love your baking dish. So pretty. Actually, with all the butter and sugar in this recipe, the fact that you missed liberally dusting the top with confectioners sugar was kind of a plus. I wish I had forgotten that step and saved about 15 calories. LOL. Your shortbread looks delicious!

  17. Teresa says:

    This recipe came at just the right time for the rhubarb here, so we were able to make the jam. These were so wonderful – everyone wanted a second piece, but they’re so rich, no one could manage one!

Leave a Reply

