Lemon Loaf Cake….from Baking with Julia…..Tuesdays with Dorie

Here are some of my starting ingredients: eggs, cream, lemons, and four. This is an outright advertisement for King Arthur Cake Flour. King Arthur is my favorite store located right down the road from me. I love their recipes and their products and they have a very good website. Of course, I have to find another recipe to use up this cake flour, an ingredient I do not use very much.

I do not really enjoy grating lemons, but here they are, and the job was not too messy with lemon peel all over the place….

Ready to go into the oven after folding in the butter…

and the finished product, looking good.

This cake was a little bitter for me, too much lemon peel, and no one at home ate it, so I brought it into work and they all loved it! They think I am a great cook. It was an easy recipe to make, high in calories (I think all of her recipes are), and rather dense so a thin piece goes a long way. I think it would be interesting to serve with a fruit sauce, such as a blueberry sauce.

Here is a member of my fan club, she was not at all interested in lemon cake, was happy to sleep on my bed instead! Looking forward to the next cooking experience.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Lemon Loaf Cake….from Baking with Julia…..Tuesdays with Dorie

  1. Aw, your fan is adorable! Your cake looks beautiful too, perfectly golden!

  2. Teresa says:

    I broke down and bought a microplane and haven’t regretted it. They’re not expensive, make zesting and grating a breeze, and you don’t get any of the bitter pith in with the zest. Zesting comes up often in French Fridays and (I suspect) Baking with Julia, so I’m glad I got it.

    Your lemon cake looks lovely in the basket – I bet you were popular with your co-workers!

  3. Cher says:

    Oh, I am a total KAF addict. You are lucky that it is down the road from you. I try to make the trek out at least a couple times a year (it’s only about 3 hour drive).

    Lovely loaf!

  4. Aren’t co-workers a baker’s best friends?? Mine will eat anything I bring in! 🙂 That’s why I can’t tell them I’m doing BWJ – they’ll be looking for new treats every other week.

  5. cookingjulia says:

    I think a blueberry sauce would have been great.

  6. KAF is really great, especially for yeast breads. I think a microplane would definitely cut back on the bitterness you had. The loaf looks really great!

  7. Piebird says:

    If you don’t get a micro plane, try to only remove the colored part of the citrus peel. You’re right, the white part is very bitter!

  8. Cathleen says:

    I love my microplane! Best purchase ever. Use it all the time. Your loaf looks lovely.

Leave a Reply

