Pizza Rustica….from Baking with Julia….Tuesdays with Dorie

Here is my second blog entry, still rather simple. I look at other blogs and cannot figure out how they look so savvy….maybe some day when I have more time to figure it out….

This week’s cooking venture is a delicious quiche type dish called Pizza Rustica. The cookbook describes this dish as ‘casual finger food in Italy, where it is traditionally served as a starter’ but I can say it would make a wonderful brunch dish or Sunday evening meal.

Easy to make using my mixer, I did not have a food processor, so just used my dough hook to make this easy, lovely dough (see my brand new mixer! I love it; someone suggested I buy a cover for it, but I don’t want to cover it up!)

Here is the dough ready to sit for a few minutes while I mix the filling. It is a sweet dough, with sugar and a stick of unsalted butter.

Ready to roll out the dough…

Getting ready to make a lattice top top, luckily I have done this before because I thought the instructions were a bit lacking…

Finished product, and it is delicious. I would make again, I am sorry I do not have a picture of my son enjoying a piece. This recipe was very easy to make, did not take long, and had a very interesting flavor. The sweet crust, with the filling made of ricotta, eggs, prosciutto, Pecorino Romano and Mozzarella cheeses, make a very interesting dish. I have no idea what the calorie count is for one piece but everything is enjoyable in moderation!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Pizza Rustica….from Baking with Julia….Tuesdays with Dorie

  1. Erin Sutka says:

    I envy your lattice abilities 🙂 I stuck with the directions because I am a total lattice novice! Your pie looks lovely.

  2. I always think it’s odd when people come into the store and ask if we have covers for stand mixers. I would never cover up my beautiful Candy Apple Green Kitchenaid either! 🙂 Your pizza rustica looks beautiful and I’m impressed that you actually did the weaving on the lattice – I was lazy and just laid it over the top!

  3. Beautiful lattice top!

  4. Heather says:

    Looks delicious!

  5. This was an amazing dish! Im glad you enjoyed it too. I loved all the yummy melted cheese:)

  6. Alice says:

    Your pie looks great and really the blogging will come with time. I spent the first six months constantly making changes as I saw other blogs and read tips and how-to guides (on wordpress) to enhance and advance your blog 🙂

  7. Wendy says:

    You learn as you go ahead with blogging. Your pizza looks great!

  8. Cher says:

    Lovely lattice work.
    It looks like you are figuring out the blogging thing just fine 🙂 It takes time to figure it all out – hang in there!

  9. Lovely job with the lattice top! And no, let’s not think about the calorie count!

Leave a Reply

